November 12, 2012




Ken Masters


I strongly advocate its use certainly at international level and the top flight divisions of all of the leading football nations. Depending on cost and operational characteristics I also wish to see it in installed at all League grounds, particularly in England and Wales.

We have been getting ever closer for some time and yet I have come to expect more blocks and delays as the months go by. Now I find this posting on AOL Sport: Football

`Goal-line technology go ahead.’ Under the headline I read: FIFA have ordered goal line technology companies to take out insurance cover in case clubs or leagues take legal action claiming the systems are not working properly.

Hawk Eye and GoalRef received official authorisation on Tuesday (two weeks ago) to install their systems worldwide after being granted licences by FIFA.

But the companies have had to provide insurance so that if the systems fail – either failing to spot the ball has crossed the line or registering wrongly that the ball was over the line – they are covered if legal action is launched against them.

Goodness me, and there was me thinking that the final decision will always be with match officials and that the technology is an aid as in cricket, tennis and rugby. It also covers any claims if a player or official says they have been injured by the equipment. Fair play but what about other bits and pieces around the ground like advertising boards for example; I do not understand that the providers of such boards are required to take out insurance in case a player runs into one and injures a knee or elbow or something.

The FIFA rules on insurance for goal line technology state: “This policy should provide sufficient insurance coverage for claims being raised by third parties due to the licensee’s activities or omissions (failure to act) as well as claims being raised due to potentially faulty (manufactured) products.

A claim is deemed as a demand for compensation of bodily injury, property damage and pure financial loss. The policy shall be concluded with a well-respected and reputable national or international insurance company.”

The granting of the licences means the systems can now be installed in stadiums, after which they will undergo a final inspection by an independent test institute before being allowed to function. The first competitive tournament using the systems is expected to be FIFA’s Club World Cup in Japan in December.

Goodness me! We seem to be getting closer but it’s a painstaking process.

On another subject, this from the official FIFA website:

“Manchester United forward Wayne Rooney is for the second year running the only Englishman to be included on the 23-man shortlist for the Ballon d’Or, which was announced by FIFA on Monday afternoon (last week).”

FIFA made this comment: “Rooney has scored plenty of goals in 2012 but did not pick up any trophies with his club and played a limited role at the European Championships finals for England, who were eliminated at the quarter-final stage.”

Not likely to win then Wayne. FIFA further comment that the Red Devils were pipped to the Barclays Premier League title by local rivals Manchester City, who have three players on the list in Sergio Aguero, Mario Balotelli and Yaya Toure. Robin van Persie, who was the division’s highest scorer last term with Arsenal and joined Rooney at Old Trafford over the summer, is also included.

Both United manager Sir Alex Ferguson and City boss Roberto Mancini have been nominated in the coach of the year category, along with Roberto Di Matteo, whose Chelsea side won the Champions League and FA Cup, and Vicente del Bosque, who guided Spain to the Euro 2012 title.

Sir Alex looks like missing out this time around.

A key man in Di Matteo’s triumphant team has been recognised in now former Blues striker Didier Drogba, as have seven members of Del Bosque’s squad in Xabi Alonso, Sergio Busquets, Iker Casillas, Andres Iniesta, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos and Xavi.

The 2011 winner Lionel Messi and runner-up Cristiano Ronaldo are also both shortlisted.

Who would bet against Cristiano Ronaldo this time? Player nominees: Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Mario Balotelli (Italy), Karim Benzema (France), Giari Buffon (Italy), Sergio Busquets (Spain), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Zlatan lbrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Gerard Pique (Spain), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), Robin van Persie (Holland), Xavi (Spain).

Coach nominees: Vicente del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Roberto Di Matteo (Italy/Chelsea), Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United), Pep Guardiola (Spain/Barcelona former coach), Judd Heynckes (Germany/Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim

Low (Germany/Germany national team), Roberto Mancini (Italy/Manchester City), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid), Cesare Prandelli (Italy/Italy national team).

The winner of all the awards will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala won January 7th, 2013. And may the best men win.


Share This Post On