OG Defeat v. Robins

October 5, 2014

Table-toppers Swindon Town win it at the death through an own goal.

Swindon_Town

 Bristol Rovers 0-1 Swindon Town

Sat 27th September 2014

Our U-18 side went down to a single goal defeat against Swindon Town, undone by a late own goal after a battling performance.

Youth Team Manager Alan Walsh had to field a side consisting mainly of first year scholars and schoolboys, due to injuries to key players, and whilst disappointed at the result, praised his players for their work rate and commitment.

“Because of our injury situation we devised a game plan to get men behind the ball and attempt to hit Swindon on the counter attack.

“We kept Swindon at bay for 86 minutes, but then gave away a free kick out wide on their left. The ball was delivered into our area and was deflected into his own net by Alfie Kilgour.

Bristol Rovers Team Photo 120813

(Laurent Davis-Wilson.)

“Until then we had defended well, though we had given away possession far more than I would have liked.

Our plan to hit them on the counter was only partially successful because we weren’t really quick enough to get in behind their defence. “However the lads worked their socks off and it was very disappointing to lose to a goal that arrived so late in the game.”

Bristol Rovers Team Photo 120813

(Louis Ezwele.)

Already missing Louis Ezwele with knee ligament damage, Donovan Wilson with a broken hand and Cameron Clarke with a broken bone in his foot, Rovers picked up another serious injury in this match as Elliott Green picked up a suspected broken ankle.

“We will” said Alan, “have to persevere and work hard in training, and hope that our injury situation gradually improves.”

KIERAN PRESTON

(Kieran Preston.)

Team: Kieran Preston, Tyler Lyttle, Tom Fry, Alfie Kilgour, Bradley Confrey, Jay Malpas, Connor Jones, George Corp, Blake Davies, Laurent Davis-Wilson (Tyler Tucker-Dixon, 70), Elliott Green (Luke Russ, 30)

Our U-18’s are without a game this weekend. Their next fixture is on 11th October when they travel to play AFC Bournemouth.

BRISTOL ROVERS – FL YOUTH ALLIANCE U18 SOUTH WEST

 Sat Aug 9 Newport County H 1-2
Sat Aug 12 Oxford United LC A 1-2
Sat Aug 16 Portsmouth A 3-3
Sat Aug 23 Torquay United H 4-1
Sat Aug 30 Cheltenham T. A 1-2
Sat Sep 6 Plymouth Argyle H 0-1
Tue Sep 10 Gloucester FAYC A 0-1
Sat Sep 13 Oxford United H 0-2
Sat Sep 20 Exeter City A 1-3
Sat Sep 27 Swindon Town H 0-1
Sat Oct 11 A.F.C. Bournemouth A
Sat Oct 18 Plymouth Argyle A
Sat Oct 25 Cheltenham Town H
Sat Nov 1 Exeter City H
Sat Nov 15 Oxford United A
Sat Nov 22 A.F.C. Bournemouth H
Sat Dec 6 Swindon Town A
Sat Dec 20 Newport County A
Sat Jan 10 Portsmouth H
Sat Jan 17 Torquay United A
Share This Post On