Academy Away Win

November 18, 2014

YOUTH ALLIANCE

YOUTH_TEAM_2014_2015

Oxford United 0. v. 2. Bristol Rovers

Sat 15th November 2014

Our U-18 side extended their unbeaten league record to four as goals from Jay Malpas and Mitch Palmer gave them a 2-0 win against Oxford United.

“We’ve had two draws and two wins in our little unbeaten run and the boys applied themselves well against Oxford,” said Youth Team Manager Alan Walsh.

“We started the game brightly and might have scored early on after Ryan Broom’s effort to get a shot away saw the ball ricochet to the edge of the box where it fell kindly for Tom Fry whose shot hit the outside of the post.

Bristol Rovers u18s v Plymouth u18s 060914

“Whilst we did exert quite a lot of pressure on the Oxford back line we had to be on our guard as they looked dangerous when they broke. Set pieces were their main threat in the opening period and although they forced a number of corners I felt we defended them well.

“We took what I felt was a deserved lead early in the second half when Mitch Palmer’s quick throw in sent Blake Davies away down the left. He cut inside crossed to the edge of the six yard box where Jay Malpas was on hand to side foot the ball across the keeper and into the net.

JAY-MALPAS_v_OXFORD

“After the goal we seemed to lose our composure a little bit although, to be fair, Oxford did push up a little bit more as they went in search of an equaliser. We gradually clawed our way back into the game and then lost Blake Davies, with cramp, and sent Elliott Green on to play up front.”

Elliott has only recently returned to action from injury, but he made an instant impact on the game. “Following a good build up down the right George Corp played Elliott in behind the full back and he crossed to Mitch Palmer who was able to score from close range.

MITCH_PALMER

“We had opportunities to win by a bigger margin, but held out to come away with all three points and our second consecutive clean sheet.

YOUTH ACADEMY 14  15

Team: Kieran Preston, Tyler Lyttle, Tom Fry, Harrison Trueman, Bradley Confrey, Jay Malpas, Ryan Broom, George Corp, Blake Davies (Elliott Green, 70), Mitch Palmer, Connor Jones

Substitutes: Callum Bingham, Cameron Clarke, Alfie Kilgour

BRISTOL ROVERS – FL YOUTH ALLIANCE U18 SOUTH WEST

 Sat Aug 9 Newport C. H 1-2

Sat Aug 12 Oxford U. LC A 1-2

Sat Aug 16 Portsmouth A 3-3

Sat Aug 23 Torquay U. H 4-1

Sat Aug 30 Cheltenham A 1-2

Sat Sep 6 Plymouth A. H 0-1

Tue Sep 10 Gloucester C. A 0-1

Sat Sep 13 Oxford U. H 0-2

Sat Sep 20 Exeter C. A 1-3

Sat Sep 27 Swindon T. H 0-1

Sat Oct 11 Bournemouth A 1-1

Sat Oct 25 Cheltenham H 1-1

Sat Nov 1 Exeter C. H 1-0

Sat Nov 15 Oxford U. A 2-0

Sat Nov 22 Bournemouth H

Sat Dec 6 Swindon T. A

Sat Dec 20 Newport C. A

Sat Jan 10 Portsmouth H

Sat Jan 17 Torquay U. A

 

Share This Post On