Academy Draw

December 9, 2014

An excellent performance and result by the Under 18 Academy side today at Hallen.

In the rearranged home fixture with the league leaders, AFC Bournemouth, the result was 1-1.

 

alfie kilgour blake davies bradley comfrey eliot green callum bingham tom fry george corp

Bournemouth had previously won 7 of their other 8 away league matches this season. They lost early on in the season to Swindon Town.

The match was played on a long-grassed pitch and the wind was a major influence on the game.

I0000GdUr0DgOUM8[1]

Despite the conditions the Bristol Rovers Under-18 side gave a very creditable account of themselves.

The young home side were on top for most of the first half but could have gone behind in the opening minutes.

I0000E2nSqAAbXiY[1]

AFC Bournemouth’s Joe Quigley hit the post in the opening minutes.

Good decision making and bravery on the ball, together with composure in possession were the key ingredients of the Rovers side in the first half.

On the half hour mark Blake Davies scored with a well-judged lob over the visiting keeper after a good move.

 

tyler little and cameron clarke

It remained 1-0 to Rovers until the 75th minute when  a swift counter-attack and a long ball resulted in the equaliser from Joe Quigley.

Although Bournemouth dominated the second half the end result was in question until the very last few minutes.

Apart from the injured Jay Malpas, Alan Walsh began with the same side as at Swindon last Saturday with Callum Bingham stepping up.

Bristol Rovers U18s V Bournemouth U18s 170813

Sam Blake and Lewis Ellington were the substitutes used along with Mitch Palmer.

A detailed match report will be available later in the week.

Cherries: Stanton, Walker, Lee, Randall (Simpson, 81), Harfield, Worthington (Surridge, 76), Millar, Holmes (Butcher, 55), Neale, O’Connell, Quigley. Unused sub: Lander.

BRISTOL ROVERS – FL YOUTH ALLIANCE U18 SOUTH WEST

 Sat Aug 9 Newport C. H 1-2

Sat Aug 12 Oxford U. LC A 1-2

Sat Aug 16 Portsmouth A 3-3

Sat Aug 23 Torquay U. H 4-1

Sat Aug 30 Cheltenham A 1-2

Sat Sep 6 Plymouth A. H 0-1

Tue Sep 10 Gloucester C. A 0-1

Sat Sep 13 Oxford U. H 0-2

Sat Sep 20 Exeter C. A 1-3

Sat Sep 27 Swindon T. H 0-1

Sat Oct 11 Bournemouth A 1-1

Sat Oct 25 Cheltenham H 1-1

Sat Nov 1 Exeter C. H 1-0

Sat Nov 15 Oxford U. A 2-0

Sat Dec 6 Swindon T. A 1-0

Tue Dec 9 Bournemouth H 1-1

Sat Dec 13 Plymouth A. A

Sat Dec 20 Newport C. A

Sat Jan 10 Portsmouth H

Sat Jan 17 Torquay U. A

 

Share This Post On