Convincing Victory

January 25, 2015

BRISTOL ROVERS 3. v. 0. PORTSMOUTH

Goals from Connor Jones, George Corp and Mitch Palmer gave our U-18 side victory against their Portsmouth counterparts at the Memorial Stadium this morning.

The winning margin was every bit as comfortable as the score suggests for although the visitors enjoyed a great deal of possession in the second half in particular, they seldom troubled goalkeeper Cameron Clarke.tyler little and cameron clarke

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Right back, Tyler Little and Goalkeeper, Cameron Clarke.)

The shot stopper did, though, make an outstanding save from a 55th minute penalty, awarded for handball against Alfie Kilgour.

Youth Team Manager Alan Walsh saw his side get off to the best possible start as Connor Jones scored inside two minutes; “It was a great run from Connor, who ran from just inside our half into the Portsmouth penalty area, beating a couple of defenders on the way, before slotting the ball past their keeper.

“The second goal, on 29 minutes, came after Tom Fry’s cross from the left. Portsmouth failed to clear their lines and, following a goalmouth scramble, George Corp was on hand to shoot across the keeper and into the far corner of the net.

“The third goal, which arrived after 49 minutes, was the best of the game. A delightful through ball from Connor Jones found Mitch Palmer and he finished well, hitting a low shot past their keeper.”

Then came the penalty for the visitors, but Cameron Clarke dived to his right to keep out the well struck spot kick. 

“The penalty came after we had lost possession just inside their half and Cameron made an excellent save to preserve our clean sheet.”

His side might have added further goals before the end of the game, though, and had they been a little bit more ruthless they could well have doubled their tally.

 

alfie kilgour blake davies bradley comfrey eliot green callum bingham tom fry george corp

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Alfie Kilgour, Blake Davies, Bradley Confrey, Elliot Green – back row. Callum Bingham, Tom Fry, George Corp – front row.)

“We did create a number of chances and we were, at times, a little bit wasteful in front of goal but the boys deserve a lot of credit for coming out on top, because it was their second game in three days, and they put in a disciplined and hard working performance. 

Rovers: Cameron Clarke, Tyler Lyttle, Alfie Kilgour, Harrison Trueman, Tom Fry (Bradley Confrey, 62), Ryan Broom, George Corp (Callum Bingham, 62), Connor Jones, Mitch Palmer, Elliott Green (Tyrone Tucker Dixon,62), Blake Davies.

YOUTH ALLIANCE SOUTH WEST

UNDER 18 LEAGUE RESULTS

Sat Aug 9 Newport C. H 1-2

Sat Aug 16 Portsmouth A 3-3

Sat Aug 23 Torquay U. H 4-1

Sat Aug 30 Cheltenham A 1-2

Sat Sep 6 Plymouth A. H 0-1

Sat Sep 13 Oxford U. H 0-2

Sat Sep 20 Exeter C. A 1-3

Sat Sep 27 Swindon T. H 0-1

Sat Oct 11 Bournemouth A 1-1

Sat Oct 25 Cheltenham H 1-1

Sat Nov 1 Exeter C. H 1-0

Sat Nov 15 Oxford U. A 2-0

Sat Dec 6 Swindon T. A 1-0

Tue Dec 9 Bournemouth H 1-1

Sat Dec 20 Newport C. A 4-4

Sat Jan 17 Torquay U. A 4-2

Thu Jan 22 Plymouth A. 1-1

Sat Jan 24 Portsmouth H 3-0

 

Share This Post On