Fixtures Due Soon

January 29, 2015

We are hoping to hear very soon the composition and fixture list of the Academy Under-18 Merit League for the remaining months of the season. As soon as the league fixtures are available they will be posted here.

YOUTH ALLIANCE

Despite our Academy side finishing their season in the Youth Alliance South West League strongly they will play in the new Merit League Division 2. The 10 game unbeaten run that lasted from October 2014 to January 2015 produced 5 wins and 5 draws, including two draws against the runaway league champions AFC Bournemouth.

However, the 5 game losing sequence in September, mainly 1-0 scorelines, mean that the Academy Under-18 side finished in 6th place in their league.

This means that the side will now play against AFC WIMBLEDON, CAMBRIDGE UNITED, CHELTENHAM TOWN, DAGENHAM & REDBRIDGE, GILLINGHAM, NEWPORT COUNTY, OXFORD UNITED, STEVENAGE, TORQUAY UNITED and either LEYTON ORIENT or NORTHAMPTON TOWN.

The Youth Alliance Merit League is a welcome development since it gives the Academy Under-18 team many more games than in recent seasons.

The top 7 sides from the Youth Alliance South and East League will play in the new Youth Alliance Merit League 1 that also includes the top 5 sides from the Youth Alliance South West League.

The remaining 5 sides from the Y. A. South West League, including Bristol Rovers, will join the bottom 6 sides from the Y. A. South and East League to form the Youth Alliance Merit League 2.

These new Youth Alliance Merit League matches are scheduled to start on Saturday February 7th.

There is a draw for which side we will play home or away. Then Bristol Rovers play all the teams once, either home or away. We anticipate playing 5 home matches and 5 away fixtures in the 3 months ahead. Each side starts again on Saturday 7th February in a new league with zero on the points board.

YOUTH ALLIANCE SOUTH WEST

UNDER 18 LEAGUE RESULTS

Sat Aug 9 Newport C. H 1-2

Sat Aug 16 Portsmouth A 3-3

Sat Aug 23 Torquay U. H 4-1

Sat Aug 30 Cheltenham A 1-2

Sat Sep 6 Plymouth A. H 0-1

Sat Sep 13 Oxford U. H 0-2

Sat Sep 20 Exeter C. A 1-3

Sat Sep 27 Swindon T. H 0-1

Sat Oct 11 Bournemouth A 1-1

Sat Oct 25 Cheltenham H 1-1

Sat Nov 1 Exeter C. H 1-0

Sat Nov 15 Oxford U. A 2-0

Sat Dec 6 Swindon T. A 1-0

Tue Dec 9 Bournemouth H 1-1

Sat Dec 20 Newport C. A 4-4

Sat Jan 17 Torquay U. A 4-2

Thu Jan 22 Plymouth A. 1-1

Sat Jan 24 Portsmouth H 3-0

 

 

Share This Post On