Under-18’s Go Top

March 27, 2015

BRISTOL ROVERS 1. v . 0. CAMBRIDGE UNITED

Blake Davies was on target for our Academy Under-18 side in this hard fought, but well deserved, victory against Cambridge United on Thursday 26th March 2015 at Golden Hill.

20150326_151222

The win means that Alan Walsh’s side remain undefeated in their Merit League Two fixtures.

The Youth Team Manager had this to say, “In the first half I thought we created the best chances, while the threat Cambridge posed was from set pieces. They almost nicked a goal just before the break, following a goalmouth scramble, but goalkeeper Kieran Preston came to our rescue.”

20150326_151040

Alan added, “We had two very good chances, from a Blake Davies header and a shot from Laurent Davis-Wilson, but both were saved by the visiting goalkeeper. Had we shown a little more composure with one or two other opportunities then we might have gone in with a half time lead.”

“At the break I told the boys that they had done OK, but stressed that wasn’t good enough and that they needed to up their game. To their credit they did improve and although Cambridge were still in the game, with a wind behind them, we dealt with it and I don’t recall them having a clear chance.”

20150326_151317

“We created several chances and Tom Fry was unlucky not to score when the Cambridge goalkeeper made a point blank save from his header. We scored the only goal of the game after 77 minutes when Tom and Laurent linked before finding Blake with a measured pass.”

Blake hit a left foot shot across the goalkeeper for an excellent goal and although Cambridge did launch more balls into our box in the closing stages, we held out for a deserved win and a clean sheet from a game played in very difficult conditions.”

20150326_151323

Rovers: Kieran Preston, Tyler Lyttle, Louis Ezwele, Alfie Kilgour, Harrison Trueman, Elliott Green, Mitch Palmer, Ryan Broom, Tom Fry, Blake Davies (Bradley Confrey, 88), Laurent Davis-Wilson

Substitutes: Cameron Clarke, George Corp, Connor Jones

Youth Alliance Merit League 2 Results So Far

Friday 6th February 2015

Torquay United 1 – 2 Cheltenham Town

Saturday 7th February 2015

AFC Wimbledon 3 – 2 Oxford Untied

Cambridge United 0 – 1 Northampton Town

Gillingham 0 – 3 Leyton Orient

Friday 12th February 2015

Cheltenham Town 0 – 0 AFC Wimbledon

Saturday 13th February 2015

Bristol Rovers 3 – 0 Torquay United

Leyton Orient 4 – 3 Dagenham & Redbridge

Northampton Town 1 – 3 Gillingham

Oxford United 4 – 0 Cambridge United

Saturday 21st February 2015 

ALL MATCHES POSTPONED

Friday 27th February 2015 

Newport County 0 – 1 AFC Wimbledon

Saturday 28th February 2015 

Cheltenham 2 – 4  Gillingham

Oxford United 3 – 2 Dagenham & Redbridge

Thursday 5th March 2015 

Gillingham 3 – 1 Oxford United

Friday 6th March 2015 

AFC Wimbledon 3 – 3 Torquay United

Saturday 7th March 2015

Cambridge United 3 – 0 Newport County

Dagenham & Redbridge 3 – 1 Cheltenham Town

Gillingham 1 – 3 Bristol Rovers

Leyton Orient 5 – 0 Oxford United

Thursday 12th March 2015

Bristol Rovers 1 – 0 Dagenham & Redbridge

Torquay United 2 – 3 Cambridge United

Saturday 14th March 2015

AFC Wimbledon 1 – 1 Bristol Rovers

Cheltenham Town 1 – 2  Leyton Orient

Newport County 0 – 1  Gillingham

Oxford United 0 – 3 Northampton Town

Thursday 19th March 2015

Gillingham 1 – 0 Torquay United

Saturday 21st March 2015

Cambridge United 1 – 1 AFC Wimbledon

Dagenham & Redbridge 1 – 1 Newport County

Leyton Orient 1 – 2 Bristol Rovers

Northampton Town 0 – 0 Cheltenham Town

Tuesday 24th March 2015

Dagenham & Redbridge 1 – 1 Northampton Town

Thursday 26th March 2015

Bristol Rovers 1 – 0 Cambridge United

Saturday 28th March 2015

AFC Wimbledon v Gillingham (10:30)

Bristol Rovers v Northampton Town (11:30)

Cheltenham Town v Oxford United

Newport County v Newport County (12:00)

Torquay United v Dagenham & Redbridge

 

YOUTH ALLIANCE SOUTH

MERIT LEAGUE DIVISION 2

UNDER 18 RESULTS

Sat Feb 14 Torquay U. H 3-0

Tue Feb 24 Newport C. A TBA

Sat Mar 7 Gillingham A 3-1

Thu Mar 12 Dag & Red. H 1-0

Sat Mar 14 Wimbledon A 1-1

Sat Mar 21 Leyton O. A 2-1

Thu Mar 26 Cambridge H 1-0

Sat Mar 28 Northampton H 11.30am

Sat Apr 4 Oxford U. A 11.00am

Sat Apr 11 Cheltenham H 11.00am

(Times of kick-off are variable and subject to change.)

ROVERS, Position – 1st,  Played – 6, Won – 5, Drew – 1, Lost – 0, Scored – 11, Conceded – 3, Points – 16.

YOUTH ALLIANCE SOUTH WEST

UNDER 18 LEAGUE RESULTS

Sat Aug 9 Newport C. H 1-2

Sat Aug 16 Portsmouth A 3-3

Sat Aug 23 Torquay U. H 4-1

Sat Aug 30 Cheltenham A 1-2

Sat Sep 6 Plymouth A. H 0-1

Sat Sep 13 Oxford U. H 0-2

Sat Sep 20 Exeter C. A 1-3

Sat Sep 27 Swindon T. H 0-1

Sat Oct 11 Bournemouth A 1-1

Sat Oct 25 Cheltenham H 1-1

Sat Nov 1 Exeter C. H 1-0

Sat Nov 15 Oxford U. A 2-0

Sat Dec 6 Swindon T. A 1-0

Tue Dec 9 Bournemouth H 1-1

Sat Dec 20 Newport C. A 4-4

Sat Jan 17 Torquay U. A 4-2

Thu Jan 22 Plymouth A. 1-1

Sat Jan 24 Portsmouth H 3-0

 

 

 

Share This Post On