Bath Uni. Draw

January 28, 2016

Bath University 2-2 Bristol Rovers


BRFC Academy Under 18 side shared four goals with a Bath University Under 21 team in a game played on grass.

Youth Team manager Alan Walsh said: “We started brightly, playing against the wind on a heavy pitch, and scored after only two minutes when Olly Mehew picked on Bradley Confrey’s long clearance and got behind the back four before toe poking a ball past the goalkeeper and Blake Davies was on hand to slot the ball into an empty net.

“We played some good football for the next 15 minutes or so and scored again after 20 minutes. It came from a throw in taken by Lewis Ellington in our right back position and from that we worked the ball out to the left.

Olly Mehew again got in behind the defence and crossed into the area where Lewis, who had made up a lot of ground, was on hand to score with a simple tap in.

Bath Uni. were constantly trying to play their wide men in and pulled a goal back when we gave away possession in a bad area. Bradley Confrey’s clearance struck Tom Fry on the back and set them up for a simple goal.

“Up until that point we had looked fairly comfortable but we conceded again just before half time when a diagonal ball found the Bath Uni. striker who got in between our full back and centre back and hit a volley across the face of goal where it was chested into the net by a team mate.”

Alan made a number of changes for the start of the second half, having elected to give all of his squad at least 45 minutes game time.

“We had the wind at our backs after the break and it was difficult for Bath Uni. to get out of their own half and we did enjoy a great deal of possession. However we weren’t able to add another goal in spite of creating a few chances. Given the conditions, it was a good game and a draw was a fair result.”


Bristol Rovers Team :- Charlie Phillips, Sam Blake, Alfie Kilgour, Bradley Confrey, Tom Fry, Lewis Ellington, Ritchie Barry, George Corp, Eliot Green, Blake Davies, and Olly Mehew.

Used Substitutes :- Toby Rennie, Sam Iles, Regan Sollars, Dan Lammiman, Connor Jones, Tyrone Tucker-Dixon, and Sam Hedges.

Share This Post On