Shortlist Matty

April 13, 2016

The Football League shortlist for the 2016 Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year award.

The winner will be announced at The Football League Awards in Manchester on Sunday 17th April 2016.

This year’s nominees are: Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers)



The Bristol Rovers forward has hit the back of the net an impressive 26 times.

Ricky Holmes (Northampton Town)

The winger has been central to the Cobblers’ promotion with dominant displays and 10 goals.

Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)

In his first full season at Oxford United, the 23-year-old has scored 17 league goals from midfield.

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division.

League 2 managers listed their top five players from this season in order.

The overall top three form the shortlist.

Previous League 2 Player of the Year winners are:-

2015:- Danny Mayor (Bury)

2014:- Gary Roberts (Chesterfield)

2013:- Tom Pope (Port Vale)

2012:- Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town)

2011:- Ryan Lowe (Bury)

2010:- Craig Dawson (Rochdale)

2009:- Grant Holt (Shrewsbury Town)

2008:- Keith Andrews (Milton Keynes Dons)

2007:- Izale McLeod (Milton Keynes Dons)

2006:- Karl Hawley (Carlisle United) 

Share This Post On