Just One Look – Plymouth Argyle

Jul 10, 2022 | News

Plymouth Argyle

Formed in 1886 as Argyle Football Club, though they folded in 1894 before resurfacing, as Argyle Athletic Club four years later.

The current club name was adopted in 1903 when they became fully professional and joined the Southern League. Like Rovers, they became founder members of the Third Division in 1920

Rovers and Argyle certainly have history, having met on no fewer than 92 times in the league with Argyle winning 37, Rovers 27 and 28 games ending all square.

The seven FA Cup meetings have resulted in three Rovers victories, three draws and one win for Argyle, while in the four League Cup meetings Rovers have won twice and there have been two draws.

The two games in the Trophy has seen one draw and one Rovers win and the cup ties added to the number of league meetings now stands at 115 competitive games between the sides.

The first meetings, back in 1920/21, saw Rovers win 2-0 at Eastville on April 23rd 1921 and Argyle win the return fixture 2-1 just a week later.

Our last league meetings came a century later, in 2020/21 and once again the home sides came out on top. Rovers were 3-0 winners at the Mem on December 12th 2020, while Argyle won 2-0 at Home Park on March 20th 2021.

Players to have turned out for both clubs include Timmy Abraham, Bruce Bannister, Paul Bannon, Adam Barrett, Jon Beswetherick, Dominic Blizzard, Leon Clarke, David Byrne, Ryan Broom, Guy Branston, Paris Cowan-Hall, Richard Dryden, Jermaine Easter, Mickey Evans, Rory Fallon, Nicky Hammond, Jimmy Hamilton, Mike Green, Josh Grant, Alan Gow, Barry Hayles, Tom Hitchcock, Lee Hodges, Tareiq Holmes-Dennis, Jeff Hopkins, Trevor Jacobs, Phil Kite, Michael Meaker, Ronnie Mauge, David John Lee, Barrie Meyer, Byron Moore, Steve Morgan, Ollie Norburn, Tony Obi, Jim Paterson, Martin Phillips, Gary Sawyer, Kelle Roos, Anthony Pulis, Scott Sinclair, Norman Sykes, Dom Telford, Chris Zebroski, Johnny Williams, Elliot Ward, Robbie Turner and Neal Trotman.

Former Rovers manager Graham Coughlan scored 25 goals in 177 league games for Plymouth while Malcom Allison and Ian Holloway have managed both sides. Former Rovers midfielder Tony Pulis has also had a spell in charge of Plymouth.

Rovers players who have made their debut against Argyle include James Liddle and George Stockley (both 1921/22), Thomas Howarth (1922/23), Arthur Gibbs and William Thomson (both 1924/25), Albert Burnell (1925/26), Syd Homer and John Russell (both 1927/28), Maurice Dando (1928/29), Jamie Cureton and Graeme Power (both 1996/97), Steve Foster, Barry Hayles and Jason Perry (all 1997/98), Wayne Carlisle and Ciaran Toner (both 2001/02),

Kayne McLaggon (2011/12), Garry Kenneth, Steve Mildenhall, Tom Hitchcock and John-Joe O’Toole (all 2012/13).

A round trip from the mem to Home Park is 252 miles.

Next season’s fixtures take place on 22nd October at the Mem and on 1st April 2023 at Home Park.

Plymouth Argyle Fc

Home Park Stadium

Outland Road




Keith Brookman

All images courtesy of Keith Brookman – please don’t adjust your screens; it was a night match!