Player of the Year awards

Apr 14, 2018 | News

It’s that time of year again when you get to vote in our end of season awards.

Our Player of the Year and Goal of the Season awards are the awards where we require your participation. Our committee have been voting every month for their goal of the month and the choice is between these eight goals, which will be listed in a separate website article.

We have purchased a brand new Player of the Year trophy which will be called The Geoff Dunford Memorial Trophy.

Votings slips will be available from our shop at 199, Pirate Leisure and on a match-day from Phil in our match-day shop and from Leanne in the Clubhouse. Votes can be returned to the same four places. The deadline for voting slips to be returned is at the end of the Wigan Athletic game on April 24th.

The awards will be presented at a presentation evening which will be made in our Supporters Club bar after the Gillingham game. Further details will be given when they are finalised.

With the advent of our new Development Squad we felt that the Young Player of the Year award previously voted for by fans would be better served it was decided by Chris Hargreaves, the Development Squad’s manager as very few fans will have seen much of his squad in action.

The Youth Player of the Year award is an Academy award and will be decided by their manager, Jonny Henderson.