No POTY Awards

April 27, 2016

YORK City South Supporters Club have abandoned their annual Player of the Year award.

The fans’ group have made the decision due to their belief that there is not a deserving candidate for the accolade following the club’s relegation from the Football League.

Instead, physio Jeff Miller will be recognised for his 30 years of service.

The longest serving staff member at York City by some distance, Jeff Miller shows passion and commitment to the Minstermen.

Explaining the extreme measure, York City South chairman Joel Stern said: “In recent years, we have asked members to vote for their Player of the Year, but I’m sorry to say that no vote will be held this season.”

“It was felt that there was no deserving candidate and that to award any player would be merely giving lip service to the club, thus ignoring the poor results and general lack of dedication and professionalism we have seen from those donning York City shirts this season.”

“This decision has not been taken lightly, but was voted on unanimously by the committee.”

“I am hopeful that this will be an anomaly and that, next year, normal service will be resumed. Instead, we would like to recognise the achievements and dedication of club physio Jeff Miller on Saturday.”

Two other York City supporters’ groups have announced their player of the season.

Centre-back Dave Winfield was the choice of the East Riding Minstermen following a number of courageous display in the middle of defence.

Meanwhile, on loan striker Bradley Fewster has been selected by Harrogate Minstermen after scoring eight goals in sixteen starts since arriving from Middlesbrough in November.

Cliffe Minstermen had earlier confirmed their winner as defender Femi Ilesanmi.

Share This Post On