Skipper named Player of the Year

January 1, 2000

Stuart CampbellStuart Campbell was named the Supporters Club “Player of the Year” at the annual awards night in the Memorial Stadium.

The skipper accepted the award from club chairman Jim Chappell with Chris Lines runner-up and Mikkel Andersen voted into third place by the fans. Campbell also won the award two years ago with Rickie Lambert picking it up last year. Andersen won the Young Player of the Year trophy from Ben Swallow with Charlie Reece third.

Andy Williams’ late match winner at Southampton was voted Goal of the Season after the audience watched a series of the best goals presented by Screen Soccer.

The audience stood for a minutes silence followed by applause for the club’s long-serving secretary Jane Browne who died on Saturday after a long illness.

Jane was posthumously awarded the “clubman of the year” Steve Larkins Merit Award that was handed to Jane’s husband Wes and daughter Lucy.

Her brother Pete and Jim Chappell paid tribute to Jane for her loyal service to the Supporters Club over more than 30 years.

Share This Post On